Skip to content

AND WE’RE BACK: Roasted Butternut Squash & Apple Soup

October 23, 2011

So we here at Gavel & Spoon have been on hiatus for a bit.

Both of us just went through  major moves across town, and for various reasons, life has been crazy. But I made this soup last week and J swore it was one of the best things I’ve ever made. If that’s not reason enough to start up blogging again, what is?

To me, butternut squash just SCREAMS fall. And obviously, it shows up everywhere this time of year. I like butternut squash soup, but sometimes it can have too much dairy or is too thin or is too sweet. I was determined to figure out a great way to balance the sweetness of the squash. I went to the farmers market and picked up a squash and a bunch of tart michigan apples. These apples looked AMAZING- I figured that they would be a great way to round out the squash. I did a bunch of research on good recipes, but in the end, sort of made a mish-mash of a bunch of them and came up with this. I think the key is the thyme. Anyway: it was a hit at my house! Even my friend who is the best Italian cook I know, who has pages and pages of hand-written recipes by her mother (who is also an incredible cook) was totally bowled over. I have never been so proud of a dish. I hope you enjoy it as well!

1 Butternut squash

Thyme sprigs

2 small onions

2 large apples (I used Fuji)

2 cups of chicken stock + 1 cup

1/3 cup of heavy cream

Drizzle of maple syrup

Salt/pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with foil and non-stick spray.  Halve the butternut squash and clean the seeds out of the core. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper, and put a few sprigs of thyme in the empty seed cavity. Place the squash face down on the cookie sheet and bake for approximately 45 minutes, or until the flesh is soft.

Meanwhile,  peel and slice the onions. Sautee in a large saucepan until translucent, approx. 5 min. Core and slice the apple (I didn’t peel mine, I liked the texture of the peel). Add to the pan with the onion and allow to sautee, approx. 10 minutes.

When the squash is done, cool slightlyand spoon the flesh out. Add the squash to the apples/onions with the thyme sprigs, adding another fresh sprig. Add the chicken stock, cover, and let simmer for about 10-15 minutes.

Turn off the heat, and let cool slightly. Carefully ladle the mixture into a blender, being careful to only fill 2/3 of the way. Blend In bactches until the mixture has the consistency of a puree.

Put the puree in a deep sauce pan. Add more chicken stock to reach the consistency of the soup you desire. Stir in cream and a drizzle of maple syrup. Season generously with salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately or keep on very low heat for up to an hour. If desired, serve with fresh thyme sprigs.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

