Skip to content

Why Food & Why Us (Part 2)

June 9, 2011

Yesterday, I was just about to post my answer to the question posed by the lovely Ms. Butter – why food and why us- which was a lengthy explanation of how I threw myself into cooking, eating, and talking food ever since I got out of law school.  I mentioned how the standards for Motions for Summary Judgment just don’t do it for me for everyday ponderings, so usually food is what is on my mind.  In short, it said that cooking, eating, and talking food in my spare time is all I can short of quitting my job and begging the government to let me take out another 100K in loans to finance my culinary school tuition.  BUT, just as I was about to post, my old friend from law school (whose identity I will not reveal but instead I will call him Mikk Haberstein) and I had this conversation: 

Mikk Haberstein:  Hey since when do you have a food blog?

Me:  Since today.

Mikk Haberstein:  Really?

Me: Yes.

Mikk Haberstein:  Do you think you are enough of a foodie to start a food blog? I wouldn’t even consider you to be a foodie.  I mean, I am way more of a foodie than you are. 

Ok so I will cut it off there because that’s where I told him that ever since law school, I didn’t consider him to be much of a lawyer.  ANYWAY, I thought the conversation raised an interesting and related point to the topic at hand- why us? Am I enough of a “foodie” to start my own blog?  And what makes you a foodie anyway?

The answer I have come up with is, of course- I’m not sure.  Here’s what I do know though.  I don’t think it has a damn thing to do with spending ridiculous amounts of money to sit in the chair of the trendiest restaurant in the city (not to say I wouldn’t want to do that if anyone is offering).  And I also don’t think it means knowing how to make a perfect coq au vin off the top of your head without referring to your favorite Julia Childs recipe book. 

I think Ms. Butter had it right.  Why us? Why food? Because we are obsessed.  Because we want more.  Because in 2007 I couldn’t make toast but now I make my own bread (which at first required me to watch a ten minute Youtube video on the art of kneading).  Because when I got my food processor last Christmas I watched the how-to DVD with a glass of wine and all the lights off in my apartment like it was the Best Picture of 2010.  Because I want to know what’s up with all the duck confit too!

No matter your thoughts on what makes one a foodie, I think we can all agree on this:   Obsession has a lot to do with it.  So here we are, two gals wanting more out of life than torts and trials.  Foodies?  Maybe.  Obsessed?  Definitely.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. hungry in nashville permalink
    June 9, 2011 11:06 am

    I really need to live near you so you can cook Sunday dinners for me!

  2. bigM permalink
    June 9, 2011 8:59 pm

    sounds like a couple a fattys

  3. JordanStone permalink
    June 10, 2011 12:20 am

    So hot!!!

Leave a Reply

